The historic Fairfell Farm is where the Yellowwood Café is located. This farm was started by Sir George Sutton, who also constructed the lovely house that is now a restaurant. The stunning homestead was constructed in 1870 using stone that was mined on the site. The majority of the timber is Yellowwood from the Karkloof’s native Yellowwood forests. The house was initially thatched, but Sir George expanded it by building what is currently the kitchen, an office, and a room with a vaulted ceiling. He then utilized imported corrugated iron to roof the house.